Money

August 16, 2010

We’ll have to be more frugal and economical in Spain.  I used to think I was a minimalist.  Pretty much a Buddhist at heart, no attachment to any material possession.  Then B pointed out how many books we had that we don’t need (90), and I realized how many t-shirts I’ve bought to avoid doing laundry (over two dozen).  In other words, ample opportunity for further simplification.

Toughest Goodbye

The simple life will be necessary out there.  We’ll have to make some adjustments. Teaching for the last five years has led to a modest but steady income.  No kids? Check. No car? Check.  It’s been the good life. $60 nights at the movies.  Two tickets, one cinnamon pretzel, Reese’s Pieces, Junior Mints, one nacho order, and two Icee Drinks.  And then maybe out to eat after that.

And then there’s coffee and tea.  Starbucks was a trip because I’m one of these punks who doesn’t say ‘venti’ or ‘tall.’  It’s always just, ‘Yeah, a medium coffee please, black, and a chocolate strawberry vivanno.’    Refusing to give into their corporate culture as the barista swipes my card for $7.84.

Speaking of baristas: please go easier on me in the future. Please let me be anonymous.  Don’t say ‘See you tomorrow’ and patronize my addiction.  Don’t memorize my order.  Act surprised to see me and be humored by my rakish charm.  Think to yourself, wow, he doesn’t even care if I put 2% or skim milk in his latte.  This boy is hard.

In Spain we’ll have to change.  We’ll drink a ton of coffee still, but maybe make our own.  Less snacks at el cine.  More long walks and home-cooked meals instead of restaurants.  Nights at the discoteca instead of joining a gym.  Grooving all night long, drinking water and pretending it’s vodka.

Because the goal is to travel- to travel a lot- and to do that, we need more coin.  We want to get out there and see it.  This isn’t a journey of self discovery where we Eat Pray Love and find  inner middle-class happiness.   This is about starting (and then running away from) a couple street brawls on the streets of Poland or Italy.  Taking a long run on the Irish countryside.  Spending a couple hours in Paris without overdrafting our checking accounts.  Going to Prague so my dad will be satisfied per his ‘You MUST go to Prague’ recommendations.  Going to Lisbon to…I don’t know what goes on in Lisbon.

Google Image Search: 'What Goes on in Lisbon'

Leave a Reply

